Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Gotta get this done - 72 Norton Commando

Gotta get this done - 72 Norton Commando 15 Feb 2023 20:29 #1

• ko
  • ko's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thank you received: 0
Hi Guy's,

It's been too many years but the time has finally come to get this bike back together (I hope) -

My 72 Combat has been disassembled for many years, and I've been too focused on work / single-parent stuff (I'm not making excuses, just whining) for waaaaay too long. I currently have 2 registered bikes to ride (a Beemer K bike and an original 02 VRod) so I ride every season, even a few overnighter road trips - So I'm still a frequent rider.

I'm asking for some direction/suggestions on getting teamed up with someone with the bandwidth/experience to get me back on track - I'm a project manager by trade, so let me try to spell it out in detail -

The bike -

72 Company Commando ("C" designated head)
Fully disassembled - frame and most painted surfaces have been refinished (black) a few years ago - stored in a cool dry place
Engine is partially disassembled (top/bottom), just retrieved the barrels from Dyno Dave a few months ago (we never got to some work we had discussed, my thanks to Dave for keeping track of that in my long absence) -
I will assume that I need cases split and bottom-end Superblend bearings installed, and probably a fresh set of pistons (this was a runner back in the day, pistons/barrels have no visible damage - original)

Thoughts on planning, here is the work in 5 phases:
I'd like to work with someone with engine/wiring skills to get these 2 aspects addressed first - I want to work with someone to examine the engine and create a parts list, order the parts, and create a working plan in stages for the bike - roughly in this order